You are here - Social- Club Dinner

2013 Club Dinner and Prize Presentation

Friday 22nd November

A good night with a full house,
entertained by Pete Matthews and
Prize presentation by El Presidente (AKA Colin Baldwin)

Thanks to all involved in the organistion and in particular to Howard Massam

Photo Gallery Here

Report from the Visiter by Peter Gawthorne follows

Friday 22nd November witnessed the occasion of the 81st Birthday of the Southport Cycling Club, when 95 members and guests met at the Old links Golf Club for the Annual Dinner and Awards evening.

The event was masterminded by Howard Massam and his team of helpers and after enjoying a splendid meal, those present gathered to applaud the riders who had achieved their various goals throughout the year.

Master of Ceremonies for the awards night was Club President Colin Baldwin who, with his usual skill and mischievous sense of humour, put the achievements of the winners in context for the appreciative audience. The Guest Speaker and presenter of prizes for the event was local cycling star Pete Matthews, former National Road Race Champion with over 370 race victories to his name, who has represented his country on numerous occasions, and is the current over 70’s British Road Race Champion. 

Prize Winners on the night included:-

Dave Morgan   Hill Climb Champion
Click on the image to expand
Maddie Scott    Ladies Hill Climb Champion
Dan Salcedo       Juvenile Hill Climb Champion
Mark McGavock  Junior Hill Climb Champion
Junior Road Race Champion
Senior Road race Champion
Michael Henderson Juvenile Road race Champion
Allan Taylor  Neville Holgate Trophy
Randonneur Champion
Ian Bailey      25 mile TT Champion
Alfie Shaw  Club BAR ( Best All Rounder)
Margaret Biggs Ladies TT Champion
Eddie O’Brien    Club Downhill Champion
Neil & Ian Robinson Half Wheel Trophy  
Dave Ritchie         Paul Mayor Trophy for Club Man of the Year
Pete Leonard Neil Smith Memorial Trophy
Norman Rimmer Handicap Trophy
Short Distance BAR
10 Mile TT Champion

As the biggest winner of the evening it was fitting that Pete Leonard gave the response on behalf of all winners and participants in all club events to thank those unsung heroes who organise, officiate and marshall at races throughout the year whatever the  weather and thereby make all of the awards above possible.

The event continued with the Club President drawing attention to members who have taken part in a number of Charity cycling related events throughout 2013, raising over £8000 for local & national charities, before concluding with a number of personal observations involving incidents and particular individuals who were subjected to the now accepted and good humoured ritual humiliation much appreciated by the audience.

The highlight of the evening was the address by guest speaker Pete Matthews who had the members and guests “laughing in the aisles” whilst he regaled them with jokes and stories loosely related to his career as a cyclist making a fitting end to a great occasion.

Report from Peter Gawthorne.    

Posted 14/10/2013 Updated 21/10/2013. Updated 25/11/2013

2012 -
80th Anniversary Dinner and Prize Presentation

A good night at Formby Hall with two very special guests in this Olympic year Sarah and Barney Storey.

Pictures on the Photo Galleries page.

Dinner Dance - Prize Presentation 2011

Photgraphs of the Prize Presentation are now on the Photo Galleries page.

Posted 26/11/2011

Dinner Dance - Prize Presentation 2010

Photgraphs of the Prize Presentation are now on the Photo Galleries page.

Posted 3/12/2010